“It’s my birthday, too, yeah..”

Yes, it is my birthday today. I’m not as old as I used to be. Some days I feel like 2000 years old. Other days I feel like a kid. As long as I do not act like one, I guess it is not a bad thing. So, how old am I? Let’s just say I am old enough to know better but still do things wrong anyway. Gotta have some fun once in a while.
Why, I am old enough to remember when birthday cakes were invented. Hmm, come to think of it, were birthday cakes invented or created? And why only birthday cakes? How about a birthday pie instead? I love coconut custard, or chocolate cream, or pecan pie. Thems my favorites. Maybe shepherds pie? No, wait; can’t make shepherds pie. No fresh shepherd around to use for making one.
Actually, I remember more things than I care to sometimes. I remember having my tonsils removed when I was three years old. Laying on the hospital bed, with the mask on my face as the nurse poored ether to knock me out. Then later, being in the hospital corridor, tripping the nurse for knocking me out. Kidding. In the hospital corridor watching Howdy Doody on an old black and white TV, while eating a bowl of ice cream. Ah, thems were the days.
I found the image below of Howdy Doody on Google. (To whomever the image belongs to, no copyright notice or ownership was mentioned on the site. But, thank you.) And for those of you too young to know who or what Howdy Doody is/was, the puppet. The PUPPET! Not the man holding the puppet! Geeshhhh!
Of course I have my own warped version of the Howdy Doody theme song. Or part of it anyways. It goes something like this:
“It’s Howdy Doody time,
I think I lost my mind,
It took me quite a while
Cuz I was in denial;”
Um, anyways..
I have not celebrated a birthday since I was knee high to a.. to a.. to a knee.
Most years I’ve had to work on my birthday. Gots to have money to keep the bills paid and a roof over my head. This year, my girl friend has to work also, so we will probably do something this weekend. For me though, it is not a big deal. When you have had a few hundred of them as I have, you start running out of ideas as to what to do for your birthday. But you never know. I’m creative and have a good imagination. I think. What were we talking about?

Anyways.. to everyone else who is also having a birthday today, here’s wishing you a happy one! And remember.. if you want to have your cake and eat it too, buy two identical cakes. Eat one and keep the other in the freezer.

howdy doody

Leave a comment